Students receive Gamma Sigma Delta honors

More than 115 attended the Gamma Sigma Delta 2014 Honors Brunch April 12 in the Wyoming Union.

Gamma Sigma Delta is the international honor society of agriculture.

Receiving outstanding student awards were:

Outstanding Sophomore – Rael Otuya, agroecology

Outstanding Junior – Heidi Hanekamp, molecular biology

Outstanding Senior – Perry Baptista, agricultural business; Kristi Bear, ecosystem science and management; Emily Schroeder, family and consumer sciences; Tricia Jensen, molecular biology

Outstanding Masters – Anna Scofield, agricultural economics

Outstanding Doctoral – Judith Odhiambo, agronomy

Department awards

Agricultural and applied economics

Western Agricultural Economics Association Outstanding Senior – Perry Baptista

Outstanding Agricultural Business Senior – Jenny Beiermann

Agricultural communications

Outstanding Senior – Sami Jo Heitsch; Carolyn Hageman

Animal science

Honor Book – Trevor Strauch.

American Society of Animal Science: Sophomores – Gina Byrd, Katelyn Newman, Hannah Shoults, Laura Strohecker. Juniors – Emilee Brinton, McKensie Harris, Marley Mardock, Eilise Patrick, Brittney Rodgers. Seniors – Jayce Calhoon, McKenzi Digby, Tyler Gardner, Sarah Notti, Trevor Strauch, Payton Vigil

Ecosystem science and management

Outstanding Senior (entomology – ENTO) – Tyler Harran; Catherine-Jane Angwin, renewable resources watershed management (REWM); Ryan Lermon (SOIL)

Graduate Student of Merit – Megan Wilson, ENTO; Clay Buchanan, SOIL; Renee King, REWM.

Family and consumer sciences

Honor Book – Anna Harrower


Honor Book – Amanda Kinley

Molecular biology

Honor Book – Michael Dee Alley

Irene Rosenfeld Scientific Achievement Award – Tricia Jensen

Plant sciences

Honor Books – Prakriti Bista, Nick Gompert, Bailey Hallwachs

Veterinary sciences

Honor Book – Amanda Payne

Outstanding Agriculturalist Award

Brad Boner of Cole Creek Ranch